On Premises Server Based model

I am a consultant with a potential client who is unhappy with Extensis Portfolio. They are a small photo studio who is looking for a product to possibly replace Portfolio in a more traditional server and client based model on premises, with a centralized archive storage device. Would Aspect Pro work?

Thank you.

Howard Goldstein
(917) 842-5754
hrgoldstein@gmail.com

Based on our current functionality, the general setup should definitely work. We plan to release a server version with a simple web frontend, too, which would enable setting up a central headless server, whereas today it will still require a desktop environment.

I don’t really know how Extensis Portfolio compares here, but one thing to be aware of is that we do not currently have any form of permission or sharing system, meaning that any user who has been granted access to a library can make arbitrary changes. For a small photo studio that is probably acceptable, but will become a problem with a larger user count. We plan to extend this appropriately, but that is something that will not happen before the beta phase is concluded.

Having said that, starting after the next release we will concentrate on getting the synchronization system rock solid. As it stands, although it generally works well, it should still be regarded as beta quality and may still show issues in scenarios where multiple users perform changes at the same time. For that reason, I would not recommend to rely on it in a production environment just yet. A rough estimation for a release quality implementation is around June this year.

Thank you very much for the information. Can you share any sense of the requirements for the headless server, and for rough pricing? When and if you think it might be appropriate I would be very interested in participating in any beta testing of the system. I have been running the single user version for a while.

I will continue to monitor the community threads.