Migrate Apple Aperture libraries to Aspect

Hello, I just discovered the existence of Aspect from a comment on Reddit.

Is there any way for long-established photographers to migrate libraries from other apps to Aspect, including metadata and edits?

Thank you,

Francis.

Hello Francis,

currently, we don’t have a specific migration/import functionality for Aperture. When importing the contents of an Aperture library, only the images themselves, as well as any possible metadata stored in XMP sidecar files will be imported.

However, the Aperture library format is pretty accessible, so we will take the opportunity and look into how involved it would be to implement an importer that retains as much of the the organization structure as possible. I’ll post again in a few days when we know more.

Thank you very much for your response.

I am very happy to help with QA testing. I was a programmer for over 30 years.

Okay, so although the somewhat different library structure requires some compromises during the conversion, it looks like this is reasonably simple. Our plan is to implement this as an add-on (JavaScript) instead of as a core feature, though. There are some scripting API extensions that will be required first, which the next preview release will include.

I’ll then put the add-on itself on GitHub, so that you can also propose refinements, if you want to.

1.0.0-preview.39 is out and has the required scripting API additions and I’ve uploaded the first version of an Aperture importer add-on to GitHub: GitHub - bildhuus/addon-aperture-import: Provides Aperture library import functionality for Aspect